THE CHALLENGES IN MY JOURNEY AS A TECHIE

THE CHALLENGES IN MY JOURNEY AS A TECHIE

Every career path has its pros and cons. It doesn't always come that easy.

Success comes with a great price.

My journey wasn't made of roses,It had few thorns and rocky grounds because the great price many times isn't what the mind has pictured. (Lol)

I started my coding journey in September 2019 and I just wanted to be a developer, I didn't take time out to understand what I was doing and how I should do it which is basically the first problem one encounter in his/her career. Most beginners find themselves in this position and It feels like one has been going round in circles.

So here I am, lessons I have learned so far either through the hard way or the soft way. lessons learned, and things I have seen that worked.

LAPTOP

I started my journey using paper and biro since I sold my phone for some reason. The phone I got later after a while did not support some apps like the text editors for android.

I wanted to give up because I don't know how I would make my codes come to life. I learnt this method from Akintunde Sultan Who is a COO at dev's career, an initiative for developers who don't have laptops. %[twitter.com/hacksultan]. He started with a pen and paper before using a phone. Not getting a laptop wasn't an excuse for him. So I used all available resources so I don't lag behind. So I found the solution to this particular issue and I also look forward to getting a laptop soon.

DATA

Getting to subscribe monthly and doing projects then getting notification from your network provider saying you have exhausted your data plan can be frustrating. So I decided to look for a working space with free WiFi. It has helped me alot.

IMPATIENCE

If impatience was a person, then that's me. I chased money more instead of focusing on the skills and mastering the basics. I wanted to be quick about everything as long as I get the gigs and money.I always find myself back to the base then I don't know where to start again.

These are the major challenges I encountered in my journey. It is a mistake I have learnt from.

one step at a time.

I learned to trust the process and take one step at a time.